Menswear for Ladies: January 31st, 2012

Event: Work

Outfit: Mustard blouse: Gap; Cords: Gap Outlet; Vest: gift (Old Navy); Bracelet: Lela sidewalk sale; Boots: Diba

Typical Tuesday. Lack of sleep continues to be a theme, but I think more because of poor time management at this point than true insomnia. Starting a book at 11pm? Not the wisest move, self. I did finish Bel Canto last night—would recommend it. I’m going to a book club meeting for it in a few weeks…cue nerdy excitement.

The day was fine. Sometimes it just surprises me which moments make me feel the saddest. Today’s grocery shopping trip for one put me in a funk (though I should be used to it by now). In a lot of ways I think I’ve gotten better at this whole “moving on” thing, but some days it just feels so ridiculous to me. Just doesn’t make sense. My friend passed on some wise words: There are 4 parts of a relationship. Your feelings, your actions, their feelings, their actions. You can only control one of these.

I’m no longer in a relationship, but this still rings true. I might not feel the way my ex does, may not understand the way they’ve acted, and I can’t seem to feel at peace with any of this at the moment. But I can keep moving forward, one action at a time. Just being in my new apartment everyday reminds me of this.

Feeling way more in the mood for a pint of ice cream than a treadmill session, but we’ll see how the night goes. A compromise is likely. Have a good evening.

Blouse previously:

~ by Elena Marie on January 31, 2012.

2 Responses to “Menswear for Ladies: January 31st, 2012”

  1. I have never heard that “four parts” before. So true. (I’m surprised I haven’t seen it printed all fancily on Pinterest.)

    Love the mustard bow blouse. AND this outfit is really making me regretful that I didn’t pick up the adorable black suiting vest I saw for $15 at the NY&Co outlet last weekend!

  2. Sigh, that four parts equation is so true! I do hope that moving on one action at a time will help to alleviate some of that pain and confusion you’re feeling. 😦

    The blouse is wonderful, and I love it paired with the vest. Having your hair down also just makes it that much more girly, despite being a menswear-inspired outfit!

Leave a Reply

 
