SLP Valentines: February 14th, 2012

Event: Valentine’s dinner w/ the ladies

Outfit: Red dress: Flirt boutique; Gold sequin jacket: Calvin Klein via T.J. Maxx; Boots: Madden Girl via T.J. Maxx; Arrow necklace: Stella & Dot

Parent-teacher conference week meant not a lot of time to get ready for the night out, but I did change into my evening look in the staff bathroom, throw on my puffy coat, and apply makeup in the corner of my room (as shared on instagram). This dress is clingier/lower cut than I think these photos demonstrate, and…yeah. To me, being 25 just means being even more conscious of looking professional to parents. Jordan came along for the girls’ night out, so I got to experience her Chicago commute (reminder to self: COMMUTING IS NOT GOOD. DO NOT TALK YOURSELF INTO AN HOUR COMMUTE AGAIN ANYTIME SOON) to meet up with grad school amigas for dinner at Tango Sur.

Appetizers were nibbled and then Jenna and I split El Filet. Heaven. Spinach-garlic mashed potatoes? I love thee.

Am feeling all off from waking up earlier than usual the past couple of days. Ate dinner right when I got home today, took an hour nap (oops), and am now waiting for a birthday cake to bake before fitting in a late workout (…and then somehow making time for data updating before tomorrow’s 12 hour workday o’ parent-teacher conferences). These big work days (which only happen 2x per year) used to feel all epic: I’d stay at my parents’ house the night before to swap in a short commute, come armed with bottled water/snacks, grab a latte on the drive home only to have Adam sweetly ready to grab a drink when I’d get home at 9. Now…well, I’ll just commute 10 minutes home at the end of the day. It’ll be just fine. Not the same “TRIUMPHANT HERO RETURNING HOME TO HER PEOPLE AND BEGINNING A 4-DAY WEEKEND WITH WINE & MODERN FAMILY, & CUDDLES” feel, but oh well. Wine has already been purchased, at least. 😉

Have a wonderful night. Did you get dressed up for Valentine’s Day?

Dress previously: Christmas-tastic, fancy dinner, Valentine’s 2011 (w/Anna’s styling, too!)

From hiding out in the speech room to a group photo.

~ by Elena Marie on February 15, 2012.

4 Responses to “SLP Valentines: February 14th, 2012”

  1. Um, what a gorgeous group of ladies!!!

    I love love love that sequin jacket! I’ve changed at work to go out afterward and it’s always awkward. Being sparkley around some work people just doesn’t feel right!!

  2. YES, Tango Sur! Their steaks are so good (I usually get the Costaleta). Viva la BYOB.

  3. Your sequins are fabulous!! I love how you had to hide in your puffer to get all made up for the night out!!!
    I drooling thinking about about those garlic spinach potatoes…mmmm!!

  4. perfect v-day outfit! i had absolutely no time to celebrate valentine’s day so i’m glad you lived it up!

Leave a Reply

 
