Ladies’ Tea: February 19th, 2012

Event: Tea

Outfit: Sugared dress: Anthropologie; Cardigan: LC Lauren Conrad/KOHL’S; Heels: Steve Madden; Tights: Banana Republic Factory; Necklace: gift

I know I just wore this dress, but I couldn’t think of anything that felt more apt for a “ladies’ tea” (especially when one doesn’t have a ridiculous, huge hat lying around). We had reservations at Anaba Tea Room, which turned out to be an adorable little restaurant with a garden-goods (+ lots of adorable odds and ends) shop on the upper floor. I’m honestly not much of a tea fan normally, but it was a lovely idea for an afternoon out and I was feelin’ a bit sniffly on Sunday—-tea hit the spot! My favorite was the “Iron Goddess of Mercy”, an oolong tea. Might need to buy a teapot– always had one in college, but became a bit of a “coffee only” lady once my tea-loving roommates were gone.

…And so concluded my February Milwaukee weekend. It was the first time I’ve been up there without contacting/seeing my ex at all, and that felt like a good step forward. It’ll always be a place with a lot of great memories, but, well, the way things ended has really colored those for me. And so it feels wonderful to be able to build new memories there, too. I grew up loving Milwaukee for the zoo, Domes, Public Museum, and trips to the playground with my grandpa (oh, and family dinners at Champion Chicken, for some reason). Thought it would be the place where a very important part of my life began. Instead it’s a city with great friends—and a city my little sister will soon live in (and call her first real, adult home)! And those are also awesome things. šŸ™‚

So, I don’t think “goodbye” is coming anytime soon, Milwaukee. Let’s keep the good times rolling (darn, this would’ve been so much better for this outfit post. Laissez les bon temps rouler).

~ by Elena Marie on February 21, 2012.

4 Responses to “Ladies’ Tea: February 19th, 2012”

  1. I’ve never been to a ladies tea/high tea before, and this looks totally awesome. I think that dress was perfect. I’m glad to hear you had a good Milwaukee day.

  2. Glad you’re not saying goodbye to a whole city, even when there are painful memories. You look great even without a huge hat. Actually, your hair looks really great, too!
    –TS
    http://thriftedshift.blogspot.com/

  3. I like the dress with the gray tights! šŸ™‚

    My family is all about sweet tea (it’s a southern thing), but I’ve never ever liked tea…. until about a month ago when I forced myself to drink blueberry tea with a little honey. šŸ™‚

  4. the light gray looks so good with that print!

Leave a Reply

 
