Bel Canto: February 24th, 2012

Event: Book club!

Outfit: Cardigan: Target; Jean: Gap; Flats: Nine West via endless.com; Necklace: JCrew Factory; “Book” bag: Gift

My sister gave me this book-tastic bag a few years ago, and I couldn’t resist busting it out for my first book club tonight. Perfect size to stash my nook.

Had such a nice time tonight. My co-worker put out a delicious spread (including homemade guacamole, which is all I require for any event to be marked a “win”) and all the ladies were very nice. Great discussion on the book (Bel Canto by Ann Patchett) combined with what was a clearly a lovely ladies’ night (stayed until after 11pm). Obviously, being the only new person and single/childless attendee was a little different, but I had fun! I’ve always thought I’d like a bookclub with the right group of people, and this confirmed it. Especially for these women who have very busy lives with their families, what an awesome way to make sure you see your friends every month or so (and get to read a great book). Good stuff.

As MWF Seeking BFF described, you need an “in” with someone to get going with a bookclub. I never had that in MKE. I know the ex excitedly suggested it as something I could do to make friends in MKE, and it was a great idea (very me), but kind of requires knowing someone in a book club first (or quite a few interested people). Very much hope I can make that happen wherever I live next. Book clubs for the win! Do any of you belong to one?

My reads so far this year.

Author Ann Patchett on The Colbert Report this week (around the 15 minute mark ).

And here’s a weird outtake in which I clutch my nook possessively and look very, very scandalized by the wall.

~ by Elena Marie on February 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “Bel Canto: February 24th, 2012”

  1. I love your book bag! I’m glad you had a good time at your book club. I just finished reading MWF Seeking BFF and was a bit envious that she was turning down book club invites. I would love to join one at some point, but it would definitely have to be the right fit, and have homemade guacamole . . . mmmm.

  2. I like how you’re standing in front of your “Keep Calm and Read On”. How appropo!

    No book club here. I don’t know how many people would want to discuss “Shoots to Kill” or “To Catch a Leaf” cheezy chick lit/mystery books 🙂

    • Thanks! Hey, I do enjoy a good chick lit discussion (Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, Sophie Kinsella, etc)! 🙂

  3. If I had any free time at all, a book club would be something I’d want to join. I can understand how you need to know someone to have an in!

Leave a Reply

 
