Layers & Dogs: February 27th, 2012

Event: Work, volunteering

Outfit: Blue tee: Gap; Dress: BCBG Max & Cleo, Outlet; Boots: Steve Madden; Necklace: Stella & Dot

Busy but pretty typical Monday. Got some nice positive feedback over the phone with a parent. Sometimes the parents I’m more nervous to talk to (in this case, because their child did not qualify for services), wind up being the conversations that make my day a bit brighter. I may find it challenging to go between a few schools this year, but I do continue to have positive experiences with teachers/parents at the private schools that build me back up.

Headed straight to the animal shelter after work. My favorite doggie is still there. Tempting tempting tempting. I think I’m still holding off getting a dog until the summer, especially as my parents aren’t in a great position to watch a pet right now and I do have some travel plans coming up. But…he’s so sweet! And adorable and I have to pick him up to put him back in his kennel every time and it breaks my heart a little.

That said? I find myself comparing every doggie to my lovely chocolate lab, who is obviously still out there being as adorable as ever. Do I believe I can love another dog? Absolutely. But…I’m still puppy-mama to a dog, even if I don’t get to be there for her anymore. So infuriating, and, yep, heart-breaking. And it’s another thing that makes me hesitate when considering getting a dog. I see many couples waiting to adopt until they are married or at least firmly together (which, yes, I thought we were, but still, the ex did not wait for me to even be living in the same city to get Arwen. It wasn’t a decision we made as a couple, much as I love her). I know I can’t put my life on hold until I’m in a “forever” relationship, but it’s also very cruel to have someone parent a pet for years and then end that relationship. I never want to be that bad guy. Ugh.

Dressing for summer:

~ by Elena Marie on February 27, 2012.

2 Responses to “Layers & Dogs: February 27th, 2012”

  1. Love the draping and the exposed zipper on that dress!!
    What breed is doggie you have been eyeing?

    • Thanks. I have no idea! Probably some sort of mix—-he’s white/tan and fluffy and about 45 pounds. 1 year old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
