I Am Scotland: February 29th, 2012

Event: Work

Outfit: Perthshire dress: Anthropologie; Blouse: Gap; Brogues: Target

First thing fifth-grade boy says to me when I pull him out of class: Hey—cool outfit! Is it Scotland?!

Yes, sir. I. AM. SCOTLAND.

Honestly, I can’t wear this dress without thinking of the ex. That I wanted it for our trip to Ireland and wishlisted it because it made me think of my Scotsman. Makes me think of our trip to Scotland, his amazing Glasgow-based relatives, (wedding) kilts, Scottish Fest, Scottish baby names imagined, celebrating his birthday a week before he decided to end our life together.

But, hey. I wouldn’t be a style blogger if clothes didn’t hold meaning for me. They bring us back to how we were feeling when we first tried them on. When we wore them. When we received a compliment from someone special. That’s my reality with all my clothes. I used to love having an amazing memory; hasn’t been my favorite quality lately (like, out of nowhere it occurs to me that it would’ve been our 4.5 year anniversary today). But such is life.

And now “Scotland” is off to the gym. Have a lovely Wednesday night! I suspect mine will be full of nose-blowing and reading (have gotten back into The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks after a long break…so interesting!).

Perthshire dress previously (+ this one).

~ by Elena Marie on February 29, 2012.

7 Responses to “I Am Scotland: February 29th, 2012”

  1. longtime lurker…hang in there, you are amazing! Clicked through to that beautiful cake–do you have the recipe?
    p.s. love this outfit with the unexpected pop of yellow!

  2. Create a fabulous new memory with your plaid dress! You’re a fabulous, tough, independent lady.

  3. I do love that dress and the unexpected pairing with the blouse really works.

    I read that book and really enjoyed it. Thank goodness for NPR book recommmendations.

  4. I love what the blouse does this to the dress!! šŸ™‚ Hope you’re feeling better!

  5. It took 7 years, but I finally forgot one particularly heartbreaking ex’s birthday this passed month (only to remember it 10 days later, and rejoice quietly that I’d missed marking the day). You’ll get there, Elena! Have lots of patience with your memory.

Leave a Reply

 
