Cocktail-tastic: April 7th, 2012


Event: Michael’s 30th Birthday Party

Outfit: Pieced Column Dress: Anthropologie; Heels: Steve Madden; Necklace & bracelet: Stella & Dot

It was so much fun celebrating Michael’s upcoming 30th birthday. He rented out the basement of a downtown Milwaukee bar—Distil—and we all got to enjoy a night of yummy food (including multiple kinds of cheesecake, which is pretty much all I require for any event to be deemed a win…excellent picks, Kristy!) and cocktails. Normally? I’m not a cocktail fan. I always wind up with drinks I hate (usually because they’re too sweet) and money that feels wasted…and so beer/wine/the occasional scotch are all that ever get ordered.

On this night? Sooo not the case. I loved the Old Fashioned our own personal mixologist taught us to make (he included some cocktail history, which was pretty darn cool) and my raspberry daiquiri (we got to pick from a variety of fresh fruits with which to muddle our daiquiris). So delicious. It was very cool having our own bartender for the evening, who would whip up all kinds of crazy concoctions (of his own invention) upon request. Egg whites were being whipped out, lemon curd was involved. Some of us (in our 20s AND 30s ;-D) made it until bar-close at 2am. Would certainly recommend Distil’s cocktail crafting classes!

Michael has already taught me to ski and enjoy many a single-malt scotch, (ooh! and put windshield wiper fluid in my car…yes, I required a demonstration), so I’m grateful for another lesson…cocktails can be yummy, dudes! Maybe I’ll order an Old Fashioned on occasion from now on.  Here’s to 30 years young!

Hostess & Host/Birthday Boy

~ by Elena Marie on April 10, 2012.

8 Responses to “Cocktail-tastic: April 7th, 2012”

  1. You look hot! That dress was definitely a good buy. I really like that necklace with it, too.

  2. That class sounds like copious amounts of fun!

  3. Gorgeous, girl! 🙂

  4. You look amazing in that dress! And your evening sounds so fun. I wondered what that cheesecake buffet was all about. Yum!

  5. Yep, the Pieced Column Dress is fab!

  6. I love this dress! you look awesome!
    I just found you on the style bloggers map, I’m new to the area and am happy to see fellow bloggers!

  7. i didn’t read the entire post, but just wanted to say: you + this dress = AMAZING!

  8. Thank you so much, ladies!

Leave a Reply

 
