Navy: April 10th, 2012

Event: Work

Outfit: Polka dotted top: JCrew Factory; Jeans: Apt 9 via KOHL’S; Necklace: Stella & Dot; Shoes: TOMS

4PM addition of sunglasses & lipstick = just for you cool cats.

…And then I somehow, after putting my workout clothes on, took a nap. For about 3 hours.

Oh well. Some weeknights are productive winners…tonight wasn’t one of them. Did manage to clean the bathroom, crank out some laundry, and do some sit-ups. That’s abouuuuut it. I get annoyed with myself for nights like this, but, honestly…who cares? I’m at an odd/still kind of unfamiliar place in my life. No homework, no dog to take of, no fiance’ to cook for/work out with/spend time with, etc. A lazy night is really just fine. Will jump back on the working out/paperwork train tomorrow. And hopefully get to bed at a more reasonable hour so that I’m not in need of a half night’s sleep at 4pm (in this case, I blame the season 1 finale of The Killing. I couldn’t resist staying up to see it through!).

I still miss my “responsibilities” in Milwaukee a whole lot, even if I wish we had been able to find a better balance with them. But, well, as the psychic in NYC told me (ha), I guess this is my time to be selfish– to put myself first. One of the regrets I currently have is that I didn’t do it sooner. I think that, when you’re in it, it’s hard to see the line between contributing to your relationship/supporting your partner…and just fighting a completely losing battle (to put it very generally). And I certainly have to take some of the responsibility for that.

…And the first step is apparently napping through half the evening? Oh, only semi-related babbling. My mind is always like this now. Stuck on the past while just going on with life; an inner monologue that just doesn’t stop. Someday it will, right?

~ by Elena Marie on April 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “Navy: April 10th, 2012”

  1. It gets better with time. Late March marked one year for me. It still happens, the what-ifs, what went wrongs, etc but not nearly as much and not nearly as painful. You’re strong, beautiful, & have so much love & support around you.

  2. love that top! polka dots+peplum=win!

Leave a Reply

 
