School & Hospital: April 13th, 2012


Event: Work, 1st trip to hospital

Outfit: Chambray shirt: Gap (borrowed); Jeans: Apt 9 via KOHL’S; Flats: BCBG Paris via DSW; Bracelets: Old Navy, H&M

Wanted something comfortable but a bit chic for Friday so that I could face parent meetings, a long day at the hospital, and doctors/nurses/therapists throughout the day. This fit the bill! The bright watermelon shoes + black just make me happy.

I don’t always feel this way (well, who does, 100% of the time), but today I felt like a good daughter. I felt like I was able to be a good advocate for my mom at the hospital with all the staff (she’s having trouble talking from the intubation during surgery), due to my awesome hearing/lip-reading skills (ha) and, sure, from having a little bit of hospital experience under my belt. And, hey, I snagged my mom some cherry Jello. AND STRAWS. I know. BE IMPRESSED. I’m proud of my dad for being so supportive and present through these last few days and glad we rocked a day chillin’ in Acute Care (no more Intensive Care as of this morning—yay!).

Headed back to see the madre tomorrow morning. Time to get some sleep. Hope you’re all having a great start to the weekend. Thanks again for all the support!

~ by Elena Marie on April 14, 2012.

4 Responses to “School & Hospital: April 13th, 2012”

  1. It is so great that you could be there for your mom! Good job on the jello!! That is one of my favorite shirts of yours…denim and frilly…love!!

  2. How is your mom? After 15 surgeries in 2 years, I know just how difficult it is to see your mom in the hospital. It’s never fun. I know your mom appreciates you being with her!

    • That is a lot of surgeries! She’s doing better every day, thanks! Hoping to see her again on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

 
