Souvenirs: May 1st, 2012


Event: Work

Outfit: Polka dots: JCrew Factory; Pants: Banana Republic Factory; Shoes: TOMS; Necklace: Cynthia Rybakoff; Bracelet: Old Navy

My upcoming trip has me pondering what I’ll see & eat, what I’ll want to wear, and what I might buy (what can I say? My daydreams are full of pastries, stripes, and champagne sipped in the Tour Eiffel). This made me think about the kinds of mementos I’ve valued from trips past. I’ve never been a typical souvenir person; while I like to receive shot glasses or magnets from others (just nice to be thought of!), for my own trips I’m more of an accessories/clothing person. I like things that, when I put them on for just a typical work day or a fancy night out, take me back to the winter of 2005, when I studied abroad in Barcelona (and oh-so-scandalously got my nose pierced). Or there’s the ring that I’ve worn every single day since I bought it—-reminds me of wandering the streets of Prague in 2007, so excited to have had coffee for the first time in four months & so full on both goulash and amazing architecture.

This necklace, purchased in the Chelsea Market, felt like the perfect souvenir. The designer, Cynthia Rybakoff, was manning her stall herself, so I got to hear a little bit about the piece (& she exclaimed that she was excited someone was buying it; that sometimes she worried for the funkier pieces) and check out plenty of other stunners by her that I would’ve loved to own! Love the lobster clasp in front and the orange/grey combination. And now I’ll always get to picture a day of bagel-eating, Highline Park touring, and market-browsing with my little sister in NYC.

Sweden & Paris, I wonder how I’ll remember you! Any souvenirs you really treasure?

~ by Elena Marie on May 1, 2012.

6 Responses to “Souvenirs: May 1st, 2012”

  1. What a great idea! I usually just take a bjilllion photos on trips, but buying one special accessory is a fabulous way to remember a good time! Have you been to Paris before? One of my favorite things about it is the Greek sandwiches in the Latin quarter that have french fries and garlic sauce on them. Sooooo good!
    –TS

    • A bajillion photos are definitely necessary, too 🙂 I have been to Paris. But for 2 days in 2007…lots more to eat and see! Will have to look out for the sandwiches! Thanks for the tip 🙂

  2. I love buying accessories as souvenirs. My favorites are the green amber earrings I bought at the Easter market in Prague, my “Greek Key” patterned ring from Santorini, and my hand-knitted wool sweater from New Zealand. I always feel extra special when donning something from a trip 🙂

  3. I didn’t start it intentionally, but I definitely have developed a tradition of getting a piece of jewelery from my memorable travel destination. Favorites: green stone (keep forgetting what it is) oval earrings from Copenhagen (thanks Mom and Dad, that’s what started it all, years ago!), red glass Murano bead necklace from Florence, a gold & aquamarine ring from Poros island in Greece, and a bird pendant necklace from Me & Ro in NYC. Somehow I never got anything from Paris – I must go back 🙂 I love your souvenir collection!

Leave a Reply

 
