Presidential: May 10th, 2012


Event: Work, errands

Outfit: Sweater: Target; Shirt: JCrew; Necklace: JCrew Factory; Jeans: Gap; Flats: BCBG Paris via DSW

I already had this shirt laid out last night when I spotted this fabulous styling of it over on Design & Style. I couldn’t copy it exactly (I WANT RED JEANS, DUDES), but my layering & gold necklace were definitely inspired by HL’s look!

I was exhausted all day, even fueled by an iced coffee and—just now—a ridiculously decadent frappuccino. However, President Obama’s words from yesterday are still making me smile (you know, like this). During the 2008 election I had literal thoughts of not living here if Sarah Palin became our VP (sometimes I feel like I’m an ex-pat waiting to happen, so I don’t say this in jest). Right now? I’m completely ashamed of North Carolina, but I’m so proud of the president who got my vote, and will again. Let’s keep getting better at respecting the rights of ALL of our citizens, America. Pretty please.

Anywho, time for a run. Think I’m logging it inside to keep track of my mileage/pace, but what a beautiful day! Might have to tack on a long walk outside at the end. Keep up the good work, Mother Nature!

~ by Elena Marie on May 10, 2012.

13 Responses to “Presidential: May 10th, 2012”

  1. I cant stand him and think he is doing an awful job. So I do not respect your attitude. I thought you were smart??

    • You’re certainly entitled to your opinion, anonymous commenter.

    • Anyone who prefers equality is smart in my book. If you think he’s awful you must be getting your news from Fox! “Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves…” -Abraham Lincoln

    • It’s hard to respect the opinions of hateful anonymous ranters. I love that Abraham Lincoln quote Victoria posted.

  2. I am Canadian but I am so proud of your president for sticking up for the rights of gay people. And I agree, thank the Lord that Palin didn’t get in! I have much hope for progress in both of our countries (you definitely have the better leader at present, though). I think that your support of Obama not only shows your intelligence but your caring nature & respect for humanity.
    Also–cute outfit!

  3. Elena Marie, I think that you did a great job with styling this shirt! I love your necklace – I definitely contemplated getting it a few weekends ago.

    Also, as someone who grew up in NC (but no longer living there), I’m pretty upset about the vote. It’s a shame. I do support Obama for his words in support. Everyone should have rights. Everyone.

    HL

  4. Loving this very chic look! All over the equality as well!

  5. Love the gray + leopard. And, I think you would rock red skinnies, in case you need some enabling. I’ve heard good things about the Target ones.

  6. Absolutely love this outfit! And I actually like it a lot with jeans! Also I really dislike ignorance, aka anonymous commenter, and I hope they never have to experience being discriminated against. In the words of my favorite drag queen, ” let the gays marry so we can be as miserable as you !” equality for all, anyone who disagrees lives nowhere but the past.

  7. Appreciate your willingness to voice support on your blog. Our family (two taxpayer parents, two grown, taxpaying children and their equally taxpaying partners) is taking a trip to NC in a week. Although we are all hetero, we would not have planned a trip nor spent a penny in NC had we known this would happen.
    Your outfit is very stylish. I really want that J. Crew shirt.

  8. I am from NC, but not at all proud of it at the moment. What an embarrassment. Bravo to President Obama!!! Yet another step FORWARD:)

    This is one of my favorite outfits of yours. Looks great!

  9. Thank you for all the lovely comments, everyone. 🙂

  10. […] outfit pretty much just replaces pink shoes with a pink skirt. BAM. Like this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

 
