26: May 19th, 2012

Event: Anna’s graduation &  family celebrations

Outfit: Dress: Anthropologie via Smashion; Heels: Urban Outfitters; Necklace: made by Anna; Bag: Rebecca Minkoff; Bangles: H&M; Watch: handed down from grandpa

So, I had a pretty lengthy reflective/sad/a little indignant birthday post written out days ago.

Bet let’s just scratch that.

I hope my friend Kristy doesn’t mind my sharing a bit of the birthday text she sent me. I think it best described what I want my mindset to be: “…it’s going to be a great year. Some awesome travel, some camping and good friends, and unknown new adventures that will bring you happiness. I’m sure of it!”

Amen.

Yes, I pictured being in a very different, newlywed place when this birthday rolled around. But it’s not where I’m at, and I’ve accepted that I had no control over that. Other peoples’ decisions and actions reflect only on them. I need to just keep working toward a better me, with lots of wonderful adventures along the way. And, if the journey involves a whole lot of pumpkin pie (er, and some treadmill running), so be it.

Off to the pool. Here’s to a relaxing day as a 20something. 😉 Thank you for all the texts, calls, facebook wall posts, instagram/twitter comments…they all helped make my day.

P.S. Watched X-Men: First Class on the treadmill (/while enjoying a birthday bubble bath ha)…definitely recommend!

photos: 3 days old- 23; 22: lake house birthday; 23: sister & friends; 24: the day, the weekend; 25: the day, the party

~ by Elena Marie on May 20, 2012.

6 Responses to “26: May 19th, 2012”

  1. Happy Birthday! Great dress! Your friend Kristy sounds like a smart girl.
    –TS

  2. Happy Birthday. It’s going to be a great year for you!

  3. Happy birthday!! So happy you’re having a nice weekend. It looks like the weather was in your favor!! 🙂 Oh, I’m curious– where is Anna working now that she is a graduate? I love hearing about new graduate plans. 🙂

  4. happy birthday, elena! xo

Leave a Reply

 
