The Fourth: July 4th, 2012

Event: 4th of July dinner

Outfit: Cami: Calvin Klein via Costco; Skirt: from Jen’s closet; Necklace: Stella & Dot; Sandals: Franco Sarto via DSW; Hat: Urban Outfitters; Sunglasses: Warby Parker

My family hosts a big cookout on the 4th most years for our extended family and our neighbors up at the lake. My cousin and his wife were also in town from Boston this year, so it was an extra-special 4th o’ July! I think I can count the number of times I haven’t been at the lake for the fourth on one hand (family trip to NJ when I was 8. Two summers spent in my hometown. 1 in Tennessee for aforementioned cousin’s wedding. 1 in Milwaukee). It’s a tradition I really enjoy and try hard not to miss.

My sister and I joke that all we need to pack for the lake are swimsuits & pajamas, and that showering daily would be just a little bit wrong. This has shifted a bit over the years, but I will say that we historically at least pack some sort of patriotic outfit to go along with our lounge wear. Gotta love an excuse to throw on red, white, & blue. And to walk around the property taking silly photos.

2010, 2011, 2012

~ by Elena Marie on July 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
