Wedding Guest (III): September 1st, 2012

Event: Liz & Ty’s wedding

Outfit: Dress: The Limited; Belt & bangles: Target; Heels: Steve Madden; Clutch: Coach

This dress is very similar to the dress I wore to Jake’s wedding, but with a hi-low hemline and a different neckline. I like it better as a more casual dress, but as I’m long overdue for a trip to the dry cleaners & had few choices…it did the job this weekend! I think I just might make it through wedding season without repeating an outfit (good job, closet!). Three down, three to go.

Liz and I were friends and, well, in competition throughout high school. We both were pretty rockin’ at the clarinet (if I do say so myself), and frequently were seated next to one another throughout our years in band/orchestra. I remember keeping our audition talk to a minimum, which allowed us to have a close friendship in spite of this. We went onto different colleges/grad schools (always managing the occasional reunion), but wound up in the same profession! And then, last year, Liz came and worked at the same building as the K-4th grade speech path. It’s a crazy small world, folks.

Liz and Ty got engaged on the day my ex called our wedding off (ha, fun fact), but I enjoyed hearing about her wedding plans this year and seeing everything come together. It was my first experience being exposed to lots of wedding talk when that was, well, no longer a happy topic for me…and I was relieved to realize that I’m still all for indulging in it when it comes to my friends. Was happy to see Liz and Ty tie (hehe) the knot yesterday at a beautiful resort. Rain, you should’ve stayed away, but the ceremony was still lovely, so TAKE THAT.

One week off, and then it’s time for childhood-friend Heather’s downtown Chicago nuptials. Ooh. Time to up the fanciness factor!

20120902-173510.jpg

20120902-173526.jpg

20120902-173538.jpg

20120902-173552.jpg

20120902-173604.jpg

20120902-173615.jpg

20120902-173626.jpg

2012 wedding looks thus far:

~ by Elena Marie on September 2, 2012.

6 Responses to “Wedding Guest (III): September 1st, 2012”

  1. Looks like a lovely wedding. Love the blue dress. Good job on no repeats so far.

  2. I love this post and all the strength you possess.

  3. Reblogged this on Flowerbud's Garden and commented:
    One of the inspirations that gave me the courage to start this adventure.

  4. […] Caffeinerd – transitioning into the real world one day (& outfit!) at a time – this particual blog post almost made me cry. A very strong, intellegent woman, for whom I have a great deal of respect for. Aside from her wonderful honest and open writing, her fashion sense is AWESOME! I wish I could have the confidence and “get dressed” more often and be present in the world around me. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  5. […] work I met up with my friend Liz (who got married last month!) at Bliss in Wauconda, where I’ve previously dined with my mom. Their “From Scratch […]

Leave a Reply

 
