Obama, Blouse & Full-Bellied: September 4th, 2012


Event: work, work meeting, dinner with friends

Outfit: Blouse & pants: The Limited; Bangles & sandals: Target

Full day today! Started off the short week with my first PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE of the season. Always makes me feel like fall is a comin’, even if the temperatures rose into the high 80s today. After work we had our first departmental meeting of the year, which awesomely was held about a mile from the restaurant where my friend Andrea is a part-time server. Laura drove out from Chicago and we indulged (to a big degree) on Chinese food while chatting with Andrea whenever possible.

…And now I just ate some of my free (thanks, Andrea!) dessert whilst tearing up to Michelle Obama at the DNC. I could not love our first lady more (…or want her arms more). After the RNC last week, I really, really needed that speech, Mrs. Obama. Thank you.

In the post-speech CNN interviews, one of my favorite quotes went something like “When you make it to the top, you don’t slam the door on those at the bottom.” I feel like that is exactly how I was raised. I’m lucky, and I’m very aware of it. I’m first generation American and I’m debt-free, college educated, and employed.  I have parents who came from very little and worked very hard to get where they are today. I find that very, very inspiring, and—I’m realizing more and more—it really is cementing my vote this November. The things I believe in? That I value (civil rights, for one)? I don’t see them in the Republican platform this year. The American Dream that I believe in? That, really, I’m lucky enough to be living? It’s just not what I’m hearing from Mitt Romney.

I know our beliefs might differ, readers. And that is just fine. But this is my teensy corner of the internet and I am so giddy over the DNC right now, and feeling giddy about politics is a good feeling. Can’t wait for Thursday night. If tonight is any indication, I’d better have some more cheesecake (just because) and Kleenex at the ready. Well, I cried a little during the RNC, too…but they were very different tears. Clint Eastwood, I was craving an encore viewing of Gran Torino and then, well, THE CHAIR happened.

Tomorrow I’ll go back to, I don’t know, New York Fashion Week or something. But tonight I’m feeling so hopeful for November.

 

~ by Elena Marie on September 4, 2012.

6 Responses to “Obama, Blouse & Full-Bellied: September 4th, 2012”

  1. Kudos for this post, darling.
    As an European who was raised in a liberal self-made family and who got to watch and hear a lot about US politics in the last 15 years or so, I can not help but shares your beliefs. And I am so proud of you right now. I think Earth needs more Americans like you and less of those who firmly believe that said Earth is their personal sandbox.

    Kudos again.

    Julija

  2. i saw a lady wearing a shirt with a giant obama face on it on my way home today and it made me all smiley. so yeah, YES WE CAN.

    • Love it! Makes me smiley, too. I ordered another tee (during the RNC ha) last week & can’t wait for my bumper sticker to get here!

  3. First of all, love your outfit. Second, I totally hear you on this post. I’m also a first generation American (on my dad’s side) and feel so incredibly fortunate for everything that I have, and think so many people don’t understand how fortunate they are (or how privileged they are) and how hard some people have to work just to make it – so I’m right there with you.

  4. I’m not a first-generation American, but as someone who came from humble family backgrounds, a woman, and a member of the LGBTQ community I could not have been more dismayed by the Republican platform. I wish that I still lived in a swing state where I felt like my presidential vote really mattered, but I will cast my ballot nonetheless in a couple of months.

    • Very dismayed. 😦 I know—I would hope Illinois will always be a done deal for Obama, but of course I’ll vote anyway!

Leave a Reply

 
